The origin of the word “gay” as a euphemism for homosexuality

Loxist bulldyke Gertrude Stein

In the first half of the 20th century, the word “gay” was synonymous with “happy” or “joyous.” Now it refers to homosexuality. How did such a formerly innocent, innocuous term come to be associated with something as unsavory and unsanitary as queer buttsex?

From the Wikipedia article on the word “Gay”:

“A passage from Gertrude Stein’s Miss Furr & Miss Skeene (1922) is possibly the first traceable published use of the word to refer to a homosexual relationship. According to Linda Wagner-Martin (Favored Strangers: Gertrude Stein and her Family (1995)) the portrait, ‘featured the sly repetition of the word gay, used with sexual intent for one of the first times in linguistic history…’”

From the Wikipedia article on Gertrude Stein:

“Gertrude Stein, the youngest of a family of five children, was born in 1874 in Allegheny, Pennsylvania (merged with Pittsburgh in 1907), to well-educated German-Jewish immigrant parents.” [Emphasis added. -IA]

As can be readily seen, use of the word “gay” as a euphemism for homosexuality is yet another instance of the jewing of the English language.

9 responses

  1. themadjewess | Reply

    This is NOT “Jewing”
    It is Bolshevik, which has ZERO to do with being a Jew.
    But I agree with the Stein perception, it would be better had these he-b*tches never been born.

  2. There were no problems before antiseminist forced jews to become bolshevists…

    Be what the hell you want to be, but do it in Israel. Fight the bolsie-jews in your own country. Get out of white countries.

  3. I am a Daughter of the American Revolution on my fathers side of my family, THIS IS MY NATION.
    I AM WHITE.
    the last application I filled out I had to put CAUCASIAN.
    YOU get out.

    1. wah wah wah
      make an exception for me
      i’m a jew

      Same old story.

      1. “Make an exception for me?”
        I am a DAR. I am 1/4 Seneca/Iroquois.
        You should be worrying if I would make an exception for YOU.

    2. kikes ain’t white bitch!

      1. << This kike is white, BITCH.
        But, Mary, an internet armchair warrior slut is usually a black in heart..Like yourself.

  4. [...] a ludicrous farce that no one could take seriously if they had shown what it was that those “gay” cowboys were actually doing up in those mountains. The audience would’ve been left [...]

  5. The origination of GAY
    In 1965 I was changing cloths in my High School locker room. On the wall above was a hateful remark about the “GA” people. I asked who or what is the meaning of GA??? I was told that “GA” was an abbreviation for Homosexuals. Meaning “Grab Ass” Later, I discovered that Homosexuals were indeed as the abbreviation stated. I served my assailant a little in the dark “knuckle sandwich” and so set things “Straight.”

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

